a food trip down memory lane: mooi chin

on mother’s day we took mom n grandma for dinner at mooi chin palace restaurant at golden landmark hotel. if u read the reviews on hungrygowhere u’ll notice a lot of the comments r related to heritage n nostalgia. after all, it’s been around since 1935.

similarly for me, it’s a restaurant i have many fond memories of even from a young age. it was always one of my grandparents’ favourite restaurants in singapore. they’d drive in to singapore from malaysia every weekend to spend time with their chilren n grandchildren, n our sunday meals together were always special.

now located on level 3 of golden landmark hotel, mooi chin has moved quite abit over the years (the earliest memory i have being its ang mo kio branch) before settling in its current location. the decor is simple n unpretentious, in fact i’d even say rather off-beat. maybe quite aptly so.

we ordered what we considered the ‘classic’ mooi chin dishes that i grew up enjoying – the restaurant’s specialty hainanese pork chops, egg fu yong with crab meat, sambal pomfret n the hokkien mee.

title or description
hainanese pork chops, photo courtesy of mooi chin

title or description
sambal pomfret, photo courtesy of mooi chin

perhaps my taste buds that night were somewhat coated with a layer of bias, but to me, it was one of the best meals i’d had in a long time.

the hainanese pork chops were as amazing as i remembered – crispy, juicy pork chops coated in breadcrumbs served with a ‘special’ gravy… there’s a really distinct flavour in that gravy i just can’t make out. i suspect they use cinnamon spices as part of the ingredients.

another one of its specialty dishes, the sambal pomfret was SPICY n FRESH n deep-fried to crispy perfection just the way i love it.

n the other two dishes just sent the ball out of the park for me. i mean, we eat at tze char places all the time so for basic dishes like egg fu yong n hokkien mee to stand out means they must b pretty damn good.

n hey, it may not look like the classiest of places but the wine list surprisingly wasn’t too shabby. i had a nice glass of wolf blass cab sav.

so bring ur family n try it out one of these weekends, n tell me if my judgement was clouded by fond childhood memories, or if mooi chin really deserves a ‘B for Bagus’ rating.

– juicy

Mooi Chin Palace Restaurant
390 Victoria Street
#03-12A Golden Landmark Hotel
Tel: 6392 1600 / 6339 7766

title or description

Comments
16 Responses to “a food trip down memory lane: mooi chin”
  1. Anonymous says:

    Asked for permission for hand in marriage at this restaurant

    I arranged for my folks and my wife’s (then she was my gf) to meet at this restaurant 3.5 years ago to formally ask permission to marry her. Food was great but I was probably nervous so didnt remember much. I pulled out this restaurant from a Makansutra guide. haha.

    Derrick

  2. Anonymous says:

    Asked for permission for hand in marriage at this restaurant

    I arranged for my folks and my wife’s (then she was my gf) to meet at this restaurant 3.5 years ago to formally ask permission to marry her. Food was great but I was probably nervous so didnt remember much. I pulled out this restaurant from a Makansutra guide. haha.

    Derrick

  3. Anonymous says:

    Asked for permission for hand in marriage at this restaurant

    I arranged for my folks and my wife’s (then she was my gf) to meet at this restaurant 3.5 years ago to formally ask permission to marry her. Food was great but I was probably nervous so didnt remember much. I pulled out this restaurant from a Makansutra guide. haha.

    Derrick

  4. ives_gracie says:

    Looks damn good. WIll bring my ah ma, and ah gong there soon. Thanks for the review!

  5. ives_gracie says:

    Looks damn good. WIll bring my ah ma, and ah gong there soon. Thanks for the review!

  6. ives_gracie says:

    Looks damn good. WIll bring my ah ma, and ah gong there soon. Thanks for the review!

  7. Anonymous says:

    Asked for permission for hand in marriage at this restaurant

    I arranged for my folks and my wife’s (then she was my gf) to meet at this restaurant 3.5 years ago to formally ask permission to marry her. Food was great but I was probably nervous so didnt remember much. I pulled out this restaurant from a Makansutra guide. haha.

    Derrick

  8. ives_gracie says:

    Looks damn good. WIll bring my ah ma, and ah gong there soon. Thanks for the review!

  9. cool tell us wat u think!

  10. cool tell us wat u think!

  11. Re: Asked for permission for hand in marriage at this restaurant

    heh well then the food must b good if her folks were convinced!

  12. Re: Asked for permission for hand in marriage at this restaurant

    heh well then the food must b good if her folks were convinced!

Leave a Reply

