Wish me luck!

Today, delicious embarks on a whole new culinary adventure – COOKING FOR THE HUBS.

What’s the big deal? Well, there is quite a bit at stake!  Since we’re both foodies and I come from a long line of outstanding Peranakan cooks, I’m under pressure to make sure that the one-dish meal that I have in mind is not only nutritious but oh-so-unforgettable as well!

What’s on the menu this evening?  A traditional Peranakan tau-cheoh (preserved soya bean) based stew/soup, "Babi-O" used to be one of the comfort dishes I used to whip up when I was a student in Melbourne.  The ingredients are simple and basic – lean pork, potatoes, garlic, ginger and of course, those soya beans… but it’s oh so tasty!  The stew will be accompanied with Chinese spinach lightly stir-fried with garlic and a generous serving of watermelon and papaya for dessert (Hubs loves his fibre-rich foods).

What’s different this time? Instead of just having the "Babi-O" stew on my stove, I’m gonna be using the brand new thermal magic cooker that D-dad gave me.  I’m curious to see if this magical appliance actually works and if our dinner will be bowl-ready when we come back from our run around the neighbourhood! 

What was the first meal you cooked for your loved one?  Share, share!

Leave a Reply

