House Party – the essentials

hall

just add hungry guests!

Ever since the hubs and I moved into our dinky little apartment in the Far East, we’ve been entertaining a lot more (I guess that accounts for the fact that our electricity bill has trebled in the last month!). This really got me thinking about the essential elements that keep your guests engaged and entertained.

cageyjpg

you don't want to make your guest feel like they've been taken hostage!

In the last five months we’ve hosted a breakfast party, a sleepover where no one slept, what would have been a tea party; and we’re due to host a w(h)ine and cheese party this weekend. Here’s what I’ve found:

1) THEMED PARTIES work. It doesn’t have to be complicated but this sets the tone for the party and people don’t have to worry about what to wear!

2) KEEP ‘EM FED In my experience, the spread doesn’t have to be elaborate. I guess I’m lucky that my guests have been happy with an authentic hawker centre style breakfast and Fried Chicken from Arnold’s! As long as you take their dietary preferences into account, I don’t think you’ll have any major issues. A potluck is great too but make sure you don’t end up with 12 pints of Ben and Jerry’s! (some people don’t like Ben & Jerry’s)

company

beautiful people

3) GET THE MIX RIGHT Not only the muzak but the people as well, this will determine how comfortable they’ll be with each other.

doze

zzz

4) MAKE IT COMFY Sometimes I find I have trouble excavating some guests like Juicy from my couch, but yes, after a good meal and some engaging conversation, a good snooze is next on the menu!

There you have it, this is how I keep my guests happy! Do you have any additional tips and tricks to share? Fill me in before my next house party!

– delicious

pictures courtesy of @miltonsau and @steffashee

 

Comments
6 Responses to “House Party – the essentials”
  1. Eleanor says:

    how about some games like monopoly, chinese checkers or bingo….but remember to keep the noise down….or else grandma can’t get to sleep…

  2. Gum says:

    Del! Get a Wii.

  3. Eleanor says:

    best way to beat your opponent, torture them with exhaustion, Jan won right….with that DOGGGGGYY.

Leave a Reply

