of scones, jam and dollops of clotted cream

These lightly sweetened, slightly savoury little baked wonders always bring me right back to the Home Economics kitchen at the Song Ong Siang Block at the old SCGS at Emerald Hill. One of the first things I ever learnt to bake (on my own) was a scone and I’ve been hooked ever since. There was nothing quite like rubbing in a mixture of cold butter and silky plain flour, throwing in plump raisins and loading up the baking trays into the then 50-year-old ovens and waiting for the buttery scent to waft through the kitchen…

The former premises of the Singapore Chinese Girls' School at Emerald Hill. Image from heritagetrails.sg

Call me strange but I can almost smell the aromas from the SCGS Home Ec kitchens every time I walk down Emerald Hill Road!

Naturally, being the food geek that I am, scones come tagged with some great food memories. My earliest memory of a proper devonshire tea was probably when we stayed at The Olde Smokehouse at the Cameron Highlands in Malaysia in the early 80s. My grandma was the first to teach me how to slice one of those buttery beauties into half, spread on some strawberry sweetness and top it off with a generous dollop of cream. Since then, I’ve been on a quest to find some of the best scones in Southeast Asia. Of course I’ve had some great scones in the UK and Australia but for some reason I’m always more excited when I discover a great version of this British quickbread in this part of the world!

Here are some of my recent scone adventures…

tea and scones - Dome at Pavillion in KL

Scones from the Dome at Pavillion in KL. The texture was pretty good, but they were a little dense but the clotted cream was more like custard, an a little “off” if you ask me…

tasty twins from Delicious at Mid Valley Megamall, KL

More buttery babies from Delicious at Mid Valley. Not bad but the service at the cafe was substandard so I really didn’t have the greatest of experiences. 🙂 Yes, I’m picky that way.

Mini scones, Vanilla, Siam Paragon, BKK

Given that Vanilla Industry is owned by the S&P Restaurant and Bakery group from Thailand, they really know what they’re doing.  Great presentation and buttery, melt in your mouth scones accompanied by “just-right” jam and cream.  Perfection, in my opinion.

So, where do you get your scone fix?  Or do you like them at all?

– delicious

Comments
4 Responses to “of scones, jam and dollops of clotted cream”
  1. Simpn says:

    Greatl scones – also try some with chives proscutto and parmesan my Italian fav recipe ( use wholemeal flour) sea salt

  2. june says:

    Delicious,

    If you’re ever at Bali, you MUST try the afternoon tea set at Biku’s, Seminyak – it’s the best afternoon tea (and good value too!!!) I’ve ever had! http://www.bikubali.com/

    Scones are delish and comes with FRESH CREAM, they have little salmon sandwiches, ham sandwiches, mini quiches, little cupcakes, etc.. sorry just thinking about it makes me drool!

    My friend did a review (with pics!) here: http://www.koolred.com/travel/index.php?cmd=review&rid=B130647287_1_1_1_1_1

    It comes with lovely teas (I loved the chai) with adorable tea cosys. Enjoy!

  3. oohh lovely!
    – delicious

Leave a Reply

